Chamber Welcomes Mark Lilly and Others as New Executive Leaders to the Region

The Hampton Roads Chamber of Commerce hosted its annual CEO Welcome Breakfast on November 18th to welcome and recognize 50 professionals who have moved into their organization’s leadership positions in the past year. More than 200 people attended the breakfast, held at The Founders Inn & Spa. Joe Flanagan, anchor/reporter with WVEC-TV 13 News, served as emcee while sponsors John Carpenter of Cherry Bekaert and Wade Powell of Dale Carnegie Training provided congratulatory remarks.

Bryan Stephens, President & CEO of the Hampton Roads Chamber of Commerce had congratulations of his own, but challenged the honorees, “You are the new leaders of Hampton Roads and we are looking to you, not only to lead your organization, but to get involved and lead our community.”

Many of the day’s honorees have had long standing commitments to area charities and community organizations, as highlighted in the brief biographies read by Flanagan.

Kari Jacobs, General Manager for ABC13 News was among the honorees. “I was thrilled to be part of such a wonderful event and to be joined with so many other leaders in the area – people that I have watched and learned from over the years.”

Commanding Officer of the U.S. Coast Guard Sector Hampton Roads, Captain Christopher Keane, viewed the event as a great way to break the ice and meet some of the new community leaders.

“I had the ability to sit down with all the local leaders of the community and hear their stories and learn how we can really help each other,” said Keane.

Angela Kellam, Executive Director of Samaritan House, Inc., thought the event set the stage for something more important. “What I love about the Chamber is the diversity among the leadership, said Kellam. “You had small and large businesses, non-profits, and the military and that really speaks to the value of the Chamber of Commerce…that there’s a place here for everyone to build our businesses and to give back to our community.”

The following 50 individuals were honored at the event:

Chief Robert Alley – Newport News Fire Department

Travis Ames, Sr. – AIG Financial Network

Shawn Avery – Opportunity Inc. of Hampton Roads

Foster Billingsley – Virginia Stage Company

Paul Bonicelli – Regent University

Dr. Jeffery Boyd – Tidewater Community College

Jeff Brillhart – Chesapeake Regional Medical Center

Brooke Briggs – Samaritan House

Captain Scott Brown, USN – Norfolk Naval Shipyard

Jerry Cale – Beach Security and Investigation, LLC

Dr. Tyler Carmack – Hampton Roads Veterinary Hospice

Don Christian – Tidewater Home Care

Tony Coppa – Cedar Point Country Club

Roland Davis – Chesapeake City Councilman

Michael Desplaines – Norfolk Botanical Gardens

Jon Drews – Cape Henry Associates, Inc.

Robert Duvall – Virginia Natural Gas

Jim Harenchar – Free Agents Marketing

Chad & Kim Havunen – Natural Bodyz Fitness Center

Kari Jacobs – ABC13 News

David Jurgens – City of Chesapeake

Sue Kanz – Solar Services

Captain Christopher Keane – U.S. Coast Guard

Angela Kellam – Samaritan House, Inc.

Andrea Kilmer – The ESG Companies

Terri Leitner – REW Corporation

Darrick Letmaster – CMP Global, Inc.

Mark Lilly – Syncon, LLC

Major Stephen Long and Major Connie Long – The Salvation Army & Kroc Center

Kim Luckes – An Achievable Dream Academy

Dr. Eric Neil – Chrysler Museum of Art

Pam Phillips – Langley Federal Credit Union

Robert Pizzini – iFLY Virginia Beach

Eva Poole – Virginia Beach Public Library

Paullette Reed – The Intercultural School of Etiquette

Dr. Lisa Rhine – Tidewater Community College

Patricia Richardson – The Virginian-Pilot

Adrianna Rivera – Junior Achievement of Greater Hampton Roads, Inc.

Cameron Robinett – Cedar Point Country Club

James Shaeffer – Old Dominion University

Russ Smith – Tidewater Medical Training

Mark Snapp – Mark Snapp & Associates

Dr. Aaron Spence – Virginia Beach Public Schools

Victoria Strickland-Cordial – Chesapeake Public Library System

Ty Swartz – Chief’s Touch Communications & Marketing Group

Cheryl Tan – Cheryl Tan Media LLC

Addie Wright Thomason – Southeastern Virginia Housing Corporation

Dr. Nancy Welch – Chesapeake Health Department

Kathleen White – Two Men and a Truck

Rear Admiral Rick Williamson – Navy Region Mid-Atlantic

Phone Numbers

Office: 757.351.0770
Fax: 757.277.9055

Follow Us


Syncon, LLC is a BBB Accredited Government Contractor in Chesapeake, VA

©  Syncon llc.

DUNS #: 83-083-1561